A Word for Wednesday

Today’s word is straightforward. Literally.

Straightforward is an adjective which can be used to describe both people and things.

A straightforward person is honest and frank while something straightforward is uncomplicated and easy to do or understand.

tube map

‘Due to planned engineering works Jeremy’s commute from Finchley Central to Waterloo was not going to be quite as straightforward as on a normal Wednesday.’

Is there something you’ve had to do recently which wasn’t as straightforward as you had anticipated?
Or maybe the other way round?

Tell us about it and practise your English!

31 thoughts on “A Word for Wednesday

  1. LOL! This one hits home really hard. In fact I have been quite straightforward in my latest post, not because that’s how I like it, but because I found it necessary. In my view, there are certain meanings that can be conveyed only in the most straightforward ways.

  2. Hey, I LOVE London since I was first time there as teenager. Tried to grab a job there or to commute πŸ˜‰ but it was’nt going straightforward…. :-/

    • Hi Tutti,
      By not getting a job there you saved yourself a lifetime on public transport – lucky escape if you ask me πŸ˜‰

      Now one little correction, if I may (us teachers never stop….)
      With the adjective ‘straightforward’, we use the verb to be, rather than go, so something is straightforward (or perhaps isn’t) but doesn’t go straightforward.

      Hope this was useful and as always Tutti, thank you so much for your comments!

      • I’ve saved up a million public transport hours, which I would like to spend there! I live so rural we have alomost no public traffic…..
        And now let’s try some correct sentence: Yardwork is not straightforward today because is raining . And straightforward I’m glad about, than don’t spend the complete long weekend with muddle along πŸ˜‰

        And thank you so much for teaching us so funny!

      • The pleasure is mine and I thank you for taking the time to both read and comment!
        Now out of curiosity (and this is a personal question so feel free not to respond), which muddy bit of G-land to you live in?
        I spent a year or so in the south of your country and have fond memories of the Spaetzle I ate there πŸ™‚

      • Hmm, these English Gardeners are curious beings πŸ™‚ For the first I’ll drop some hints to configure it a bit more exciting. Next bigger city to me – 1. is famous for cars 2. founded the purity beer law 3. Frankenstein had been created there
        ..and now the same question back to you, Tuttis are most inquisitiv, too!
        PS: Spaetzle – YES we can πŸ™‚ YUM

      • Hi Tutti,

        Curiosity is the mother of creativity (ok just invented that, but anyway…)

        So me, I was born in a land across the Med where there is plenty of sunshine but also plenty of troubles.

        My year in Germany was spent not far from the capital city of lederhosen and dirndls, but last year I spent a bit of time in your nearest big city.

        My partner in crime, we shall call him The Spanish Designer, was working for that big car company there, while I was cycling along the Danube and eating Johannes berries πŸ™‚

      • Hey – world is a village πŸ™‚ May be we already have met and don’t know it πŸ™‚ Hope you enjoyed your stays? What was the most amazing thing here for you? …The Spanish Designer Β°-Β°
        Your hints are a bit stingy. That could be North Africa or Mideast….OK- set me. Mideast – because the British were there. Love quizgames!

      • Hi Tutti,

        Here in Spain they have a saying which goes ‘the world is a handkerchief’ which I guess would mean we are all the snot, which is a rather strange analogy, but there you go.
        But yes, perhaps our paths crossed somewhere (though if you were with Emi I would have definitely remembered such a cute dog πŸ˜‰ ).

        What I found most amazing about your part of the world was the Radifest.
        Merely the concept of celebrating the radish left me speechless!

        Re my clues, yes they were rather unspecific however, your gut feeling was right and it is the Middle East indeed. I can add that the country where I was born has both historical and religious importance (which, in light of the situation there is a very mixed blessing you could say…)

        Ok, I think now I’ve made it really easy πŸ™‚

      • World is a handkerchief – hahaha – not so wrong! Hey E- Garden ( does that sound cool + cyberish? πŸ™‚ ) do you speak Hebrew?
        Radifest – funny! Never heard about that before. Guess all kind of pretext are welcome to make a bear festival of it….

      • I am the E.G and I work in my little E-garden, hehehe, I like that a lot πŸ™‚

        And in reply to your question, yes, among several other languages I also speak Hebrew.

        And Radifest rules! We went to one in Gaimersheim and another in Ingolstadt by the lake (where I won a big plant in the raffle which I was very happy about!)

      • It’s really weird to talk with you about Gaimersheim and Baggersee. Like I call a fried here: What are we going to do? Oh let’s go to the beergaden in Gaimersheim.;-)
        I rather don’t visit these aborigines assemblages… hehe
        Wow, Mrs. Multilingual – what is your first language? I grew up with high german – bavarian was my second language, my mum comes from Berlin.

      • My first language is Hebrew, although I’m bilingual as I moved to London when I was quite young.

        Apart from that I speak a few European languages and a couple from South East Asia (but mostly not so accurately or fluently) so although I’m multi lingual I’m not that good at it ;).

        And about your first comment, perhaps one day if we’re near Baggersee at the same time we can talk in German, English or Gibberish over a cold beer (or Apfelschole, which I love.)

      • I’m really IMPRESSED now! Obviously you have talent for communicaton! Do you teach people from everywhere?

        YEAR visit me! Is anything scheduled? We have galore Apfelschorle, it’s waiting for you!

      • First of all don’t be too impressed, it’s all quite circumstantial really.

        Re teaching, I only teach English but I have worked in a few different countries now so overall you can say that in my life I have taught people from everywhere.

        Finally, I’ll take you up on the Apfelschorle invitation next time I’m in the area, but be warned – I drink a lot of the stuff πŸ˜‰

      • Apfelschore – can do this effordless. In my village is a lemonade plant. If you like you can swim in πŸ™‚

      • PS: I’m curious! How did it happend that you speak all this languages? Did you grew up so international or had you been such an industrial student?

      • Hehehe, I was (and still am) the furthest thing from an industrious student.

        In fact, if I am in a classroom as a student and the class is not to do with something you can make or move to, I immediately get either bored, hungry, want to chat to the person next to me about totally unrelated things, yearn to be outside or all of the above…

        My language skills are quite circumstantial: I was born in Israel and moved to London when I was little, did French and Gernan at school, studied Mandarin at university and after graduating spent some time in Tokyo where I picked up (a tiny bit) of Japanese.
        After that I chased the sun to Barcelona (picking up Spanish and Catalan), followed a boy to Germany (improving my German) and then shortly afterwards, followed my heart right back here.

        And apart from a reply to your question, that, more or less is my life story in one paragraph πŸ™‚

        Now it’s my turn, and although I don’t want to intrude, still, I am also quite a curious creature so maybe you can tell me something about yourself or life.
        For example, what is the name of your village?
        Have you always lived there?
        Do you have a big garden where Emi runs around?

      • You life sounds like what I had planned for mine, but universe had other idears for me! So first of all CONGRATS – your being sounds interesting and whole hearted. I was always facinated of different languages and cultures and, I’ve already mentioned it. I LOVE London. I understand all the ‘no’s and ‘but’s’ of the dwellers and I admit I have the happy point of view of a tourist πŸ™‚ People there are so nice and shopping and nightlife are pretty cool there Β°-Β°

        Hey Netta, I enjoy our excange very much and have a proposal. I’m very playfully ,we could play dedectiv. πŸ˜‰ My blog contains a lot of hints about me and my live. Guess what might be my profession *grin* For every right thing you tell me I give you a letter of my name. Together with my hints you can find me on the www easiely!

        I like the thougt that it will become a little abstract and not comprehensive for other people despite it is public on the internet πŸ™‚ Cyber-Art

        Tutti is my name of my childhood. Some people in my village or family still call me Tutti thougt I didn’t feel like Tutti for a very long time. My real name starts with the same letter and is quite unusal.T****
        This was the first hint!

      • Ok Mrs T,

        So is it Tilda or Tabitha? (can’t think of any other unusual German name off the top of my head).

        Judging by your cyber-detective skills and some of your posts, my guess is that you do something IT related.

        I think you once wrote that you are an illustrator, but that may (for the time being) still a labour of love rather than your job (?)

        Am I close?

      • HiHiHi, Mr. T. is terribly sorry to tell you that you are very far away! Hi you, had a very busy week, so sorry for the late answer. All I can do with a stubborn computer is this http://tuttisworld.wordpress.com/2013/03/31/handy-hint/
        and thank you that you honor me with the word illustrator but I’ wouldn’t claim that I can draw….
        With the distance of a week I ask my self If I overdid? If that paperchase is not funny for you, we don’t need doing it….

      • Hi back!
        I am sorry to tell you that your hint didn’t help a lot…
        Maybe it’s the fact that I am currently working 7 days a week and so don’t get enough sleep (something I am very fond of and miss a lot!) or maybe I’m just slow…
        Then again, perhaps mystery is just not a great motivator for me (being a very simple non-mysterious creature myself…)
        Still, I would love to read whatever you wish you tell me and whenever you have the time πŸ™‚

      • Oh dear, I know that feeling. It comes to a point when everything extra is too much. Hope it’s going to be easier soon for you. Is there a special reason for , like an ill workmate?
        I’m self emploed and had at last, over the eternal long wintermonth to less work, so I’m very glad now that have more work again.

      • No, no ill workmates (I work entirely on my own here) but along with the Spanish Designer I have just opened a new shop/showroom as instead of working in car design he now designs and makes furniture.
        This is great news (bespoke furniture for this place πŸ˜‰ ) but does mean that instead of chilling and spending weekends on the beach – my favourite activity this time of year – I am now working far more than is conducive to the level of relaxation I normally aim for πŸ™‚
        Glad to hear you have work again, always good to come out of hibernation after a long winter with something to keep you busy.
        Still I wonder, will you ever tell me what it is you actually do or is it top secret?
        Actually, this specific information doesn’t matter too much but it would be nice to know something about you, be it your job, your name, your favourite season?….
        Or if not, then just how you are will do. Your messages always entertain me.

      • Here is some more entertainment for you πŸ˜‰
        Do you know that sweet and satisfying feeling when you manged a big heart-project?A cushy job ( you see someone reads attentiv :-p) never can perfom this. But I don’t want simplify – set up a business is hard work! Customer made furniture sounds great. Is online already something to see? The table??? πŸ˜‰ Many years of my profesional life I spend as a crafts-woman.

        This winter was quite sad for. Long, dark, cold and I felt lovesick. That’s why I set up my blog. Good or bad is not always so easy to distinguish…..
        I claim sometimes it is nessecary to get tortured or nothing moves ;-))))

    • Oh no- love sickness is a bad illness to suffer from 😦
      I hope that soon the floods will dry and as summer arrives so will new happiness enter your life!
      I do agree though that doing things, starting projects (and blogs!) and moving forward is key to everything, and yes, sometimes negative things happen so that positive things can grow, and I so wish you all the positivity in the universe πŸ™‚

      I took another look at your blog last week, reading literally every single post, and saw that you make clothes (you see, I am getting better at being a cyber detective ;).

      Re. the furniture, yes there is a website which is still under construction, although there are a few photos up:
      http://www.labayruigonzalez.com (and there is also a blog where I basically make up interior design trends and on this blog you can also find a few photos of the furniture πŸ™‚ )

      Your own web is also very intriguing-next time I’m in IN I’m booking a session for sure!!

      • Thank you for your good wishes – I take them all πŸ™‚

        Oh the cloth making is nothing I’m perfect in but like the spanish designer, I like recycling and handy things. You’ll see soon…. πŸ˜‰ The website looks pretty cool. I love the pics in the old factory hall! I’m keen to see more and keep my fingers cross to you that the business prosper.
        But also wish the cardesign to continue – that makes you comming to IN πŸ™‚

        By the way, you don’t need to be here for a session, I work very often at phone. Please don’t think I try to sale you anything…!!!
        Are you on skype? I’m but my computer is an old geezer, sometimes Skype is nerve-racking with all the interuptions and freezings….
        If you like we could try it just for fun…..

      • Hi Tutti!

        Your offer is interesting but somehow I think that it would be much better in person (perhaps with an Apfelschorle somewhere in the mix;) )

        Glad you like the other blog too, it’s quite different from this one and keeps me entertained πŸ™‚

  3. Dear gardener
    What was Jeremy ( is he the one in the photo?) doing in Finchley Central?
    I expect a straightforward answer to a straightforward question.
    With all my love
    xxx R

    • Dear R,

      It is at times like this that one should use one’s powers of deduction.

      If Jeremy was commuting from Finchley Central, and we know the meaning of the verb ‘to commute’, that can only mean one thing.

      If you are still not sure, he tells me he shops at Tesco’s on Ballards Lane so if ever you happen to find yourself in that part of town do pop in and see if he’s around, that way you can ask him yourself (he can normally be found by the tuna fish shelf).

      Much love,
      The English Gardener

Leave a Reply

