A Thought for Thursday

A little something to think about when using English 🙂

In English the final is an adjective meaning coming at the end of a series, or a noun meaning the last game in a sports tournament or other competition, which decides the winner of the tournament.

The end, on the other hand, is the final part of something, for example a period of time, an activity, or a story.

So this Saturday sees the UEFA Champions League final take place in Wembley Stadium, London (not far from where Jeremy lives) while next Friday is the end of the month.

Which one are you looking forward to more and why?
Tell us about it and practise your English!

UEFA cup– The End –

4 thoughts on “A Thought for Thursday

      • I merely pointed out a spelling mistake (“Staduim”) in your post in a kind of “funny” way, as a proof that indeed we all need to practise our English. If there would be such thing as “true freedom”, then you could have grasped my meaning, and you wouldn’t have felt the need to give me some information and “help” that I don’t need. 🙂

      • I wasn’t really giving help, I was just explaining my view on the fact that learning (English or whatever else) is not a must, rather a privilege, and in any case my comment was meant a lot more light-heartedly than it was obviously received.

        On another point, true freedom has nothing to do with misunderstandings, which is what happened here.
        If you write things humourosly there is always the possibility that you may be misunderstood or not fully understood.
        For me this is not a problem (I would be surprised if everyone gets 100% of my own ramblings) but in my opinion it has nothing to do with freedom.

        In any case, thank you for pointing out the typo which I shall now correct 🙂

Leave a Reply

